New Feature: Historical Fiction Cover of the Week

There was so much interest and enthusiasm for my “top ten covers” – not to mention the hate mail from those whose covers I didn’t include – that I thought I might spread the love a little by featuring a cover from this genre every week. That way I get to annoy all but one person each week…

I shall usually feature the cover on a Monday but my bad back this week has rather put me behind. [Insert sympathy here…]

For me, covers are a gateway to the story. They set the mood of the book and in some cases the cover can be quite dark. Dark covers have the drawback that they don’t show up particularly well as thumbnail images online but they can nevertheless be very expressive.

A number of HF covers recently have been quite dark.

serpentswordlamentationlastshroudbrighterI’m thinking, for example, of Lamentation by C. J. Sansom and The Serpent Sword by Matthew Harffy –  not to mention my own upcoming release, The Last Shroud.

But the one of these darker covers which I like most – and this week’s featured cover – is Gordon Doherty’s Legionary: The Scourge of Thracia.

LEgionary It’s a great action shot and leaves you in no doubt about what to expect in the book. Great cover!

This entry was posted in Covers, Historical Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Feature: Historical Fiction Cover of the Week

  1. margaretskea Author of prize winning historical novel Turn of the Tide says:

    I love this cover!!

  2. margaretskea Author of prize winning historical novel Turn of the Tide says:

    Reason: – So full of life and atmosphere. (Sorry for pressing button too soon on earlier comment.)

  3. Hi, sorry for my tardiness but I’ve only just picked up on this. Delighted to hear you like the artwork so much. I too place a lot of stock in getting that one rich visual aspect of a book ‘right’. Mood, atmosphere and allusion can all be captured by the right imagery.

    Best,
    Gordon

    P.S. the latest book in the series, complete with its own cover, is out today!
    http://www.gordondoherty.co.uk/writeblog/legionarygodsemperors

    P.P.S. the skilled hand behind the artwork is Olly and the team over at MoreVisual.me

Leave a Reply

