Historical Fiction Cover of the Month for April

Well, here we are again and I have to say that April has provided as good a selection of excellent new book covers as March did. There’s quite a number I’m featuring this month so here we go…tempest

First up is this rather different cover for David Cook’s Tempest. This is a bold and unusual cover because, unlike most book covers today, it is monochrome but nevertheless, I like it. There’s plenty of use of light and shade – and quite clear, crisp definition in the image. The light in the centre draws the eye towards the ship yet manages to leave the picture as a whole pretty dark, implying of course a… well, tempest.

Personally. I like a bit of colour but, given that many book covers these days look cloned, it’s nice to see something a bit different.

thelastlegionnaire

Those readers familiar with the work of Paul Fraser Collard will not be surprised to find that in his latest book the hero on the cover has his back turned towards us. Now let me be the first to say that I always had a few reservations about this idea, but I have to admit that it’s growing on me. The variety of uniforms used over the series is impressive and enables the designer to select a different central colour for each book. That works well, as does the period detail in the background.

This latest cover in the series is, I think, up there with the first one.

lordofireland

 

E. M Powell’s The Lord of Ireland is the third book in the Fifth Knight series and this cover really hits you between the eyes. It’s simple, but very effective. The background contains a great, but subtle, design and the title font is very strong. Now, it’s interesting that the title font for this third book is a departure from books 1 & 2. Personally, I think it’s a great change. It really gives life to the cover and I’m not even sure that it needs the sword there at all. Bold and effective!

wintersfire

 

Now what is not to like about the cover of Giles Kristian’s latest viking novel, Winter’s Fire? This is the second book in the Rise of Sigurd series.

I love the design: the contrast of gold title lettering and rich, dark red background works very well indeed. Like the cover above, it also marks a departure from the first book of the series since this is moving away from the sort of action-based image we have seen on previous covers.

For me, it’s a great cover and would probably have been my cover of the month had it not been for this little beauty.

graveyardofthe hesperides

Lindsey Davis’s new one, The Graveyard of the Hesperides, really took my fancy. It is the fourth book in her Flavia Alba series and the design follows the pattern of previous books.

For me, there is a genuine beauty to it. The marble background – light, yet clearly defined – with simple text for the title and then [wham!] a golden apple with a few well-placed drops of blood.

The cover reference is to one of the labours of Hercules [no, not the horse in Steptoe and Son, the other Hercules…] This labour concerns the stealing of some golden apples and, not having read the book yet, I’ve no idea whether it has any connection with apples. I don’t care, it’s still my favourite cover this month – but only just.

That’s it for April, but I’ve already had a sneeaky peek at May and it looks very good too!

This entry was posted in Covers, Historical Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Historical Fiction Cover of the Month for April

  1. All fab covers, Derek, and intriguing books – two are already on my TBR pile.

  2. Wow, I love that Paul Fraser Collard cover. It really makes you want to read that book!

Leave a Reply

