Historical Fiction Cover of the Year Award – the Contest!

I have selected a baker’s dozen of covers for you to consider in this year’s contest – one from each month, except for July, but to compensate I’ve included two from April plus one suggested by you in your comments.

My selections reflect my own personal preferences – so you’re stuck with that but you now have until midnight on New Year’s Eve – UK time – to vote for your winner.

Since I won’t be continuing my monthly feature on covers in 2017, this is my last cover post for a while.

Here are the contenders:

All you have to do is write a comment on this post saying which one you want to win. Comments already posted will count.

The winner will be revealed on New Year’s Day.

 

This entry was posted in Covers, Historical Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to Historical Fiction Cover of the Year Award – the Contest!

  1. emmagray1979 says:

    1066 Turned Upside down by Avalon Graphics!

  2. Bill Page says:

    For me, the cover (and, perhaps even more so, the title) should not only indicate the subject of the novel, but also have that vital something (don’t ask me what it is – I’m still looking) that intrigues the potential reader in that first vital second before his / her eyes wander off to the next book on the shelf.
    Of the 13 covers shown, the ones which, to me, most have that “intrigue factor” are: Iron & Rust, The Emperor’s Silver, 1066 Turned Upside Down, The Black Friar, and the Liberation. But since I must pick only one, it has to be 1066 Turned Upside Down.

  3. Julie Malone says:

    1066 Turned Upside Down by Avalon Graphics. Beautiful graphics reflecting the theme of the book.

  4. mwills986 says:

    1066 Turned Upside Down. The graphic portrays the title beautifully.

  5. Jane Risdon says:

    1066 Turned Upside Down, beautiful cover and evocative too. 🙂

  6. Its 1066 Turned Upside Down for me too. Love it.

  7. 1066 Turned Upside Down is the best cover but The Black Friar caught my eye immediately and if I won, I’d like to have that one. 🙂

  8. Duncan short says:

    1066 upside down?

  9. George robinson says:

    1066 – turned upside down!

  10. Helen Robare says:

    Blood and Blades

  11. Lisl Zlitni says:

    1066: Turned Upside Down! 🙂

  12. I already have Iron & Rust and I’ve already read Winter’s Fire, so in terms of “what would I Iike to win?”, it would have to be 1066 Turned Upside Down. Please. If we’re voting on which cover prompted the strongest reaction though, it’s Jane Steele. Laughed and LAUGHED 🙂

Leave a Reply

